Git is a wildly popular free distributed revision control system that enables developers to manage larger projects with greater efficiency – specifically projects that require multiple developers. Git was originally developed to run in the Linux Kernel development environment in 2005 with an emphasis on supporting non-linear workflows with high levels of speed and data security. The Git system allows users to divide projects into working directories that include change history and version-tracking capabilities without requiring access to a shared network or a central server. But before getting too deep into the specifics of Git, it’s important to understand revision control systems – also called version control systems.
So What Are Revision Control Systems?
Revision control systems are a way for developers to work on larger projects, particularly in a collaborative situation. Data groupings and files can be saved into repositories using Git. These repositories can be manipulated to help users manage and update data without losing track of a project or without having the developers work over one another. Anyone who’s ever had their own work accidentally deleted by another developer working on the same project can understand why this is such an important tool.
How Git Works
Git provides each developer on a project with a local copy of the project’s entire history. The changes that each developer makes can be copied between repositories, along with the full history of a project, attributing each change to its developer. When changes are made, they are imported into repositories as additional development branches. Developers can then merge locally developed branches. Repositories can be published using HTTP, FTP, rsync or special GIT protocols.
How Can I use Git?
Git was developed for Linux Kernel and does still primarily appear on Linux systems. However it does also support OS X, Windows, BSD and Solaris now. The first step to using Git is to upload a current project to a remote repository. Once you have done so, you can configure your permissions so that the appropriate users are able to access the necessary files. Once you’ve configured your account you can begin creating, editing and saving your files. The best practice for doing this is to create a central “master” version of your project and then individually cloning the specific files you are editing. Once you’re done working on those files and you have tested them thoroughly, you can merge your work into the existing “master” file and move forward with your project.